‘Bus’ted

‘Bus’ted

On September 8th, 2016 six school busses were hijacked in the course of an hour. The drivers were found on the roadside along the bus routes passed their last stops in quiet residential neighborhoods in: Silversprings, Inglewood, Acadia, Makenzie town, Sunridge, and Sage Hill. Each of the drivers had suffered a bullet wound. I was able to talk to the only two survivors:

            “I was driving my bus route, and I had past every stop. But there was one kid left sitting at the back. I had never seen him before. It was a very warm day; however he wore a toque, a large leather jacket, and had a scarf wrapped around his lower face. I checked my map and reassured myself I had not missed a stop. So I called back to the kid, ‘Hey kid I went through the route. Did you miss your stop?’ *Silence* ‘I can take you back to the school.’ *Silence* ‘I’ll do that.’ So I started driving back towards the school. When had gotten about halfway, I heard footsteps behind me. I turned planning to tell the kid off for being up while the bus was moving. But I didn’t see the kid. Instead a short man, the height of a kid, stood there toque and scarf lay on the ground; bald head tattooed with the image of a red sun, scruffy facial hair, and holding a gun.”

            “I saw the bus driving away from me where I lay on the road.”

            The other driver described a similar circumstances.

            At midnight that night a family of five were driving into Calgary from Red Deer who reportedly saw the buses driving north from crowchild. With red banners with gold suns hung out the window.

            For Months calgarians wondered why. Until on Christmas eve the buses were seen driving throughout the city. Each came from different directions. Ending their snaky path at edsworthy park. There I saw the buses arranged in the shape of a stare. After calling the police I snuck in closer to hear. A man stepped forwarded in to the center of the star, he wore a crimson robe that had golden symbols covering it. He held a torch and spoke in a loud voice.

            “The oil serpent tails hath snaked through out the city.” He began to yell, “NOW SUN CONSUME THIS WORLD AND LET IT BE SCORCHED INTO SUBMISSION AND YOUR PARADISE.” He dropped the torch. Around him flame leapt upwards consuming the buses and eating their way through out Calgary. The flame exploded outwards and blasted me into the river. Smoke rose high from the burning forest.

            Now the sun is rising on Calgary much of the city has been burned. And weirdly from the air, the branded areas look like a star.

3 Thoughts.

  1. Joel,
    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this piece. I loved the creativity of it and it shows just how easy it really is for people to orchestrate crazy things such as that. I found this piece to draw me in completely and it inspired me quite a bit. My only criticism would be to more thoroughly check your grammar as I did notice some mistakes.
    -Sydney

  2. Dear Joel,

    This piece is amazing. You tell a story very well, moving from scene to scene, giving the audience the right amount of questions that they can answer through reading a little further. The plot of the story is very well thought out for a fictional piece, as it tells this tale. I personally enjoyed the way you made question what this cult of the star was, leaving it up to the reader to ponder.

    For your next piece, I’d look a bit carefully for any GUMPS, as I found a couple. Also, and I’m not sure if you’re planning this, but I feel there could have a bit more written just to wrap up or even pose further questions for the reader, but the way it currently ends is still very suspenseful.

    Overall, this is a great piece, and I hope you continue on it!

    Keep it up!
    -Lucas

  3. Dear Joel,

    I really liked how this piece had a sort of dark and sinister feel to it. The ideas you worked with were very intriguing, but there were some grammar mistakes that messed with the flow of the story. Overall, it was a wonderful concept!

    -Kayla

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar